The Faculty of Agriculture was established in Tekirdağ in 1982 first as part of Trakya Universty in Edirne. After the foundation of Namık Kemal University in 2006, the Faculty became one of its constituent parts. The Faculty currently comprises ten departments, namely Food Engineerring, Agricultural Economics, Horticulture, Plant Protection, Field Crops, Soil Science and Plant Nutrition, Animal Science, Biosystem Engineering, and Agricultural Biotechnology. The Faculty also comprises some 140 academic staff covering a wide range of disciplines and offers through its departments twenty-two undergraduate and graduate academic programmes.